Escapist

cue green peplum skirt - Maison Blue Cue green peplum skirt - Maison Blue Cue green peplum skirt - Maison Blue

Isobelle Carmody - Obernewtyn

Zara white shirt | Cue green geometric peplum skirt | Bauhuas earrings | Wittner wedges | Marc by Marc Jacobs watch

As this particular sunny Sunday held both an escape to the country for high tea and a mental escape seeing my favourite author at Writers Week, I felt it necessary to acknowledge the happy fact that I am an escapist. A daydreamer. A person well developed in the keen art of dissolving into a fantasy world courtesy of a book. I declare, along with dear miss Caroline Bingley, that there is no enjoyment like reading! And unlike those that claim there are many more important things taking up time in our lives today (I am looking at you computer), I will always come back to reading, whether after only a few hours, or hollow and shame faced after a more extended period of time.

Isobelle Carmody’s books have been with me for a long time now, helping to shape me, providing me with the north point for my moral compas, as only a book read from childhood can. I have entered the slipstream of the surreal, one of my favourite places on earth. And as the weather turns and I find myself in this benumbed state (relatively of course, since it really is still a fairly mild autumn) I reminisce on the stifling heat I was so keen to avoid! Nothing like viewing something from the other side…

But with a change of season comes a change in the fashuns. Tonight is the Rundle Mall A/W13 parades and so we can say summer is well and truly over.

Stay rad

x x

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: C U L T U R E, F A S H I O N, S T R E E T S T Y L E

Author:Elli Agars

Adelaidian with a love of fashion, music, culture and life.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Escapist”

  1. Bianca Sorana
    March 23, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    I like your skirt so much!!! ❤
    kisses, Bianca!

    https://thecharmoflife.wordpress.com/

  2. March 23, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    Cool skirt!

    A new review of the Mackage 2013 runway show from World MasterCard Fashion Week is up on Local & Opulent. If you like leather jackets, stylish coats or insanely cool handbags, this is not to be missed!

    http://localandopulent.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/mackage-fall-2013/

  3. March 23, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    LOVE your skirt – well, I love the look head to toe. Fabulous. Or, I mean rad!!! 🙂

  4. March 25, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    That skirt is everything!!!!!! Super cute!

  5. March 26, 2013 at 1:50 am #

    I love your blog, its gorgeous! I was just wandering, since yours is so good whether you could check out mine? Hahah! http://www.vintagewater.wordpress.com

  6. June 21, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    absolutely love this look!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Chloé satchel and a farting cat | You Rad Thing - April 19, 2013

    […] is also my attempt to geek up this beautiful Cue skirt (who knew it could be done?). A seemingly anxious, yet accidental, perfectly colour matched bag and […]

Leave a Reply

