D.I.Y Flower Crown

I think every girl loves flowers in some way or another – sure some of us dont love getting flowers for special occasions, but I must confess: I LOVE THEM. It’s the romantic in me. Lucky I have a beau who know’s the way to my heart is through a good bunch of oriental lilies! Any way back to the topic… Flower crowns have been popping up lately as the go to accessory for balmy music festival attire or ultra girlie looks. Blame Lana Del Rey? I think so. After looking fruitlessly in the shops for the perfect one, I decided (with the experience of one ballet costume, years ago) I would make one myself and share it with you!

First step is organising the supplies. I found really cheap (but still nice) flowers at Cheap as Chips. The bunch I ended up using here was $1.50 AUD. BARGAIN! The floral arranging tape was $3.95 and I used and old headband – so all in all a cheap venture.

Using the wire attached to the flowers, wind each one in place place. Work your way along the headband.

When all flowers are in place begin winding the securing tape around the entire headband. This tape will not only hide the mess but keep the nasty ends of the wire from digging in to your head anywhere. I suggest using small pieces about 15 cm long so you don’t get too tangled.

The tape is stretchy, slightly waxy, and will stick to itself – so to seal the ends just pull tight and stick the tape on itself.

And finished!

Add as many flowers, big or small, bright or plain, make it jumbled or neat – it’s up to you!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: F A S H I O N

Author:Elli Agars

Adelaidian with a love of fashion, music, culture and life.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “D.I.Y Flower Crown”

  1. August 11, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    you look like a flower child!! so ethereal and beautiful!
    loved the roses!

  2. August 11, 2012 at 4:45 am #

    Elli you definately have the do it yourself (cheaply)bug that runs inthe family! Well done you make me so proud.xm

    • August 12, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

      Haha well D.I.Y is all about affordable! Can’t wait for spring – i’ll make one for you too ;P

  3. August 11, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Fun idea! I would love to try this. Thanks for sharing!

  4. August 13, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    such a great idea! you are stunning and look so good with it on!

    // VISIT MY BLOG – ZEBRA AND MEERKAT //

    • August 14, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      Thanks! Dude I am so very happy you started to blog again – very much enjoying it 😀

  5. August 13, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I love this!
    x

    • August 14, 2012 at 12:13 am #

      Cheers, love your studded DIY! I have been meaning to do it for aaages! Looks good!

  6. August 14, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    really cool and sweet idea! thanks!

  7. August 20, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Oooh I’ll have to try this someday, I’ve got so many mini headbands lying around not being used!

    • August 21, 2012 at 12:02 am #

      I cant believe how cheap this is to do, and it looks so pretty! Just waiting for the weather to warm up a bit more down here!!

  8. August 28, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Ah the flower band! You cutie, looks great! Maybe I could do one and we could wear them in the shop! Or would that just be sad? 😉

    • August 28, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

      No way! In the shop – first day of spring! Haha, we could never be sad… right? 😛

  9. September 18, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Reblogueó esto en Simple is chic.

Leave a Reply

