A winter serenade

So winter has arrived in Adelaide. The heavens have opened up and unleashed a multitude of water and storminess all over the state, and now I swear I can’t remember sunshine. There is something innately thrilling about rainy weather that means I can’t wholly hate bad weather – in fact I really love it. The creeks around the Adelaide hills swell, our tin roof sings and we get visions of hail and sometimes snow. Its not a serious winter compared to other parts of the world, sure, but it does get pretty hectic some times. Its awesome.  But only if I get to be inside, rugged up and with a pot of tea! And the best accompaniment to this situation? A rad winter playlist. Music for the weather, its an age old theory, but music and weather do go hand in hand – just like warm buttery bread and some home made soup. And so I present to you my favourite winter tunes for this season that I have had on high rotation on my musical devices. Some of them are oldies and others fresh out of the studio, but all of them give me the dark, beautiful winter feeling that goes so well with grey skies and humble umbrellas. Enjoy.

(And yes, that is the view from my balcony)

Little Talks   –   Of Monsters And Men 

Hood   –   Perfume Genius

England   –   The National

Youth   –   Daughter

Lay It Down   –   The Rubens

You Look Great When I’m High  –   The Brian Jonestown Massacre

Cannons   –   Youth Lagoon

Perth   –   Bon Iver

Romeo And Juliet – Dire Straits

Suburban War   –   Arcade Fire

Tags:

Categories: M U S I C

Author:Elli Agars

Adelaidian with a love of fashion, music, culture and life.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “A winter serenade”

  1. June 22, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    What a view!! And I can never get over the fact that winter is in Australia while most of us are melting away in the heat…

    • June 23, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      Ahh don’t remind me! Just went for a drive and could barely see 20 meters in front from all the fog! Enjoy your sun for me 🙂

  2. July 1, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    What a view! Mysterious and beautiful.

    It’s “summer” on this side of the globe, but a very noncommittal one — I woke up yesterday to the sort of angsty foggy drizzle that your playlist matches perfectly. (:

    • July 2, 2012 at 1:58 am #

      Fog with angst is the best kind! Hope your summer decides to show up!

Leave a Reply

